Tags

,

It was a calm and quiet evening December in Lahore. Me and my family had missed Benazir’s political rally at Liaqat Bagh, Rawalpindi due to power outages and were sitting in my father’s room who was on an official visit to Faisalabad. At around 5:00 PM, power came and I quickly switched on the TV only to see that Ex-Prime Minister Benazir Bhutto has become a victim of another terrorist attack. News channels were reporting that Benazir has received minor injuries and is taken to the nearest hospital (Rawalpindi General Hospital). The power went out again and we had no more updates,  my mother and sisters started praying for BB’s health. I went outside to see if there are any reactions on the street. There was none, it was still very calm and serene.

Soon, power came back and we heard the news that nobody was expecting “Benazir Bhutto has been assassinated”. And the mayhem started. I messaged my father about the assassination and cautioned him about the developing law and order situation. I was worried about him as he was travelling on a green-number plate staff car which was being targeted by rioters. Thanks to Almighty ALLAH, he managed to return back  home safely. But unfortunately, his driver had to seek refuge in bushes for hours on his way back to office.

The stage was set for rioters; there were no law enforcement agencies to stop them. Numerous people became victims and lost lives. Public transport, government vehicles, private cars were attacked and torched. Banks, restaurants, malls were looted. In short, the country lost billions of dollars in just few hours.

I called my friend Haroon to inform him about the assassination but found him in his own worries as he was to attend a wedding of his relative which seemed impossible as the wedding couldn’t take place in such a chaotic situation.

At that time, I thought that this assassination will make no impact on the politics of Pakistan but I was wrong. Political scene changed dramatically, PPPP won the sympathy votes and became the ruling party with Asif Ali Zardari as President. This is how I remember December 27, 2007. That day I saw a chilling winter evening turned into a bloody night for Pakistanis.

